
Taxi Info for Yellow Cabs 

Metered Fare Information 

 On-screen rate is ‘Rate #01 – Standard City Rate.’ 

 The initial charge is $2.50. 

 Plus 50 cents per 1/5 mile or 50 cents per 60 seconds in slow traffic or when the vehicle is 

stopped. 

 In moving traffic on Manhattan streets, the meter should “click” approximately every four 

downtown blocks, or one block going cross-town (East-West). 

 There is a 50-cent MTA State Surcharge for all trips that end in New York City or  

Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Dutchess, Orange or Putnam Counties. 

 There is a 30-cent Improvement Surcharge.   

 There is a daily 50-cent surcharge from 8pm to 6am. 

 There is a $1 surcharge from 4pm to 8pm on weekdays, excluding holidays. 

 Passengers must pay all bridge and tunnel tolls. 

 Your receipt will show your total fare including tolls. Please take your receipt. 

 The driver is not required to accept bills over $20. 

 Please tip your driver for good service and safe driving. 

 There are no charges for extra passengers or bags. 

 

Toll Information 

 The passenger is responsible for paying all bridge and tunnel tolls. 

 Use of E-ZPass 

o A driver must use an E-ZPass when taking a toll bridge or tunnel and must pass the 

discounted toll amount to the passenger.  The amount of the toll will be added to the 

metered fare at the end of the trip. 

 Round-trip tolls 

o Passengers must pay all tolls to and from the destination in Westchester and Nassau 

Counties. 

o Passengers must pay return tolls for trips over the Cross Bay Veterans, and Marine 

Parkway-Gil Hodges Memorial Bridges. 

o Passengers must pay for all tolls to and from Newark Airport. 

 

Credit/Debit Cards 

 You can pay for your trip with cash or credit/debit/prepaid card. 

 There are no minimum fares required for credit/debit/prepaid card payment. 

 There are no additional fees (surcharges) for paying with your credit/debit/prepaid card. 



Medallion Taxicab Passenger Bill of Rights 

As a taxi rider, you have the right to: 

 A driver who has and uses E-ZPass at all toll crossings that accept it and who charges 

passengers the discounted E-ZPass rate; 

 Pay for your ride with credit/debit/prepaid card; 

 Go to any destination in NYC, Westchester County, Nassau County, or Newark Airport; 

 Direct the route taken: The most direct route or one of your choice; 

 A safe and courteous driver who obeys all traffic laws; 

 A knowledgeable driver who speaks English and knows City geography; 

 Air conditioning or heat on request; 

 A noise-free trip: no horn honking or radio; 

 Clean air. Smoke and scent-free air; 

 Working seatbelts for all passengers; 

 A clean taxicab: interior, exterior and partition; 

 Be accompanied by a service animal; 

 A driver who does not use a cell phone while driving (hand-held or hands free); 

 Decline to tip for poor service. 

 

Airport Trips 

 To & From LaGuardia Airport: 

o This is a metered fare. 

o Onscreen rate is ‘Rate #01 – Standard City Rate’. 

o The initial charge is $2.50. 

o Plus 50 cents per 1/5 mile or 50 cents per 60 seconds in slow traffic or when the vehicle 

is stopped.  Plus tolls, surcharges, extras and, as an option, tips. 

o There is a 50-cent MTA State Surcharge for all trips ending in New York City or Nassau, 

Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Dutchess, Orange or Putnam Counties. 

o There is a 30-cent Improvement Surcharge.  

o There is a daily 50-cent surcharge from 8pm to 6am. 

o There is a $1 surcharge from 4pm to 8pm on weekdays excluding holidays. 

 

 To/From JFK and any location in Manhattan: 

o This is a flat fare of $52 plus tolls, the 50-cent MTA State Surcharge, and the 30-cent 

Improvement Surcharge. Onscreen rate is ‘Rate #02 – JFK Airport’. 

o Passenger is responsible for paying all tolls. 

 

 From JFK to other New York City destinations: 

o This is a metered fare. 



o Onscreen rate is ‘Rate #01 – Standard City Rate’. 

o The initial charge is $2.50. Plus 50-cents per 1/5 mile or 50-cents per 60 seconds in slow 

traffic or when the vehicle is stopped.  Plus tolls, surcharges, extras and, as an option, 

tips.  

o There is a 50-cent MTA State Surcharge for all trips ending in New York City or Nassau, 

       Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Dutchess, Orange or Putnam Counties. 

o There is a 30-cent Improvement Surcharge. 

o There is a daily 50-cent surcharge from 8pm to 6am. 

o There is a $1 surcharge from 4pm to 8pm on weekdays excluding holidays. 

o Tips are optional. 

 

 To Newark Airport: 

o This is a metered fare with an initial charge of $20 ($17.50 Newark Surcharge plus initial 

charge within City limit), plus the mileage/time charges, plus all roundtrip tolls.  

o Onscreen rate is ‘Rate #03 – Newark Airport.’ 

o There is a 30-cent Improvement Surcharge.   

o Tips are optional. 

 

Out of Town Trips 

 Westchester & Nassau Counties: 

o This is a metered fare that is equal to the metered amount to City limit ‘Rate Code #01 – 

Standard City’ plus double the metered amount from the City limit to your destination 

plus round-trip tolls, the MTA State Surcharge, and the 30-cent Improvement Surcharge. 

o Once the taxi goes beyond the City limit to Nassau or Westchester, the onscreen rate 

message should read ‘Rate #04 – Out of City Rate to Nassau or Westchester’.  

Additionally, a message should appear on screen alerting the passenger of the rate 

change.   

o Tips are optional.  Passenger must pay all bridge and tunnel tolls.   

 

 To Newark Airport: 

o This is a metered fare with an initial charge of $20 ($17.50 Newark surcharge plus initial 

charge in City limit) plus the mileage/time charges and all round-trip tolls. Onscreen 

rate is ‘Rate #03 – Newark Airport’.  

o There is a 30-cent Improvement Surcharge.   Tips are optional. 

 

 Other Points Outside the City: 

o The Driver may choose whether to take such trips. The fare must be mutually agreed 

upon before the trip may begin. 

o Negotiated Flat Fare – The fare will be a Flat Rate negotiated between the Driver and 



Passenger plus the MTA State Surcharge must be added to the flat rate for any trip that 

ends in the following counties: Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland or Suffolk. The 

onscreen rate message should read ‘Rate #05 – Out of City Negotiated Flat Rate’. There 

is a 30-cent Improvement Surcharge.   

o Tips are optional. 

 

Group Ride Information 

 Two, three, or four people can take a group ride from a yellow taxi Group Ride Stand and pay a 

flat rate. 

 

Group Ride Pickup 
Location 

Route End Point Fare/Person 50-cent MTA State 
Surcharge 

Port Authority Bus 59th St./6th Ave $3.00 
One Passenger Pays 
 

York Avenue Financial District $6.00 
One Passenger Pays 
 

 

 Group Ride pickup times are 6am – 10am, Monday – Friday (excluding holidays). 

 Drop-offs are restricted to the Group Rides route. The onscreen rate message should read 

‘Rate # 06 – Group Rate.’ 

 

Contact the TLC 

Lost Property, Questions, Comments, Compliments, Complaints… 

 Contact 311 or visit www.nyc.gov/311 

 Out of Town - call 212-New-York 

 www.nyc.gov/taxi 

 

 


